Saturday, 3 December 2016


Image result for communication

The first core competency is Communication.  In the BC revised curriculum, communication is broken up into the following four components: 
1. Connect and Engage with others  
2. Acquire, Interpret and Present information  
3. Collaborate to Plan, Carry out and Review constructions and activities  
4. Explain, Recount and Reflect on experiences and accomplishments
Students can assess themselves on an eight-point scale in which they make use of "I" statements. For example, "I can present information clearly and in an organized way".  These are outlined in this document.  These statements assist the student in self-evaluating.  
In addition, the ministry is building a repository of examples that illustrate the levels of the communication competency.  These illustrations are found on this page and can be viewed by clicking on the orange lettering.  Some are pictures and some are videos but serve as practical examples that demonstrate each level of the competency.  
Once you have explored this competency, why not take some time with your child to make an assessment of where they might fall on the 8 point scale?  Most of you will find these embedded in your PLP.
Communication matters!!


Post a Comment