Sunday, 15 January 2017

Critical Thinking

The third competency falls under the "thinking" category along with creative thinking.  It is called Critical Thinking.  This competency is made up of three components:
1.  Analyze and Critique
2.  Question and Investigate
3.  Develop and Design
This competency has a six-point scale which is described using "I" statements found here.  Statements are as simple as "I can show if I like something or not" to "I can make choices that will help me create my intended impact on an audience or situation".
In addition, the ministry is building a repository of examples that illustrate the levels of the critical thinking competency.  These illustrations are found on this page and can be viewed by clicking on the blue lettering.  Some are pictures and some are videos but serve as practical examples that demonstrate each level of the competency. 
Once you have explored this competency, why not take some time with your child to make an assessment of where they might fall on the 6-point scale?  Most of you will find these embedded in your PLP.


Post a Comment